Cricket: Afridi, Sarfaraz play for Galle Gladiators in LPL

Cricket: Afridi, Sarfaraz to play for Galle Gladiators in LPL

Former Pakistan captains Shahid Afridi and Sarfaraz Ahmed will play in the upcoming Lankan Premier League for Galle Gladiators, a team bought by the owner of Pakistan’s Super League franchise Quetta Gladiators.

The announcement of The inclusion of Afridi and Sarfaraz in the franchise was announced by Nadeem Omar, the owner of Quetta Gladiators, during a reception here on Wednesday at a reception to introduce the Galle Gladiators outfit.

Afridi was named the Galle Gladiators icon, and the former all-rounder thanked Omar on Twitter.

“I’m proud to be the iconic player of the Galle Gladiators. I would like to thank Nadeem Omar bhai and also congratulate him for being the first franchise owner from Pakistan in the #LPL. We’ll see you all again,” tweeted the 40-year-old, who last played a T20 event for Multan Sultans in the PSL last year.

The opening event is scheduled for the period from November 14 to December 6, and the Sri Lankan board has already sold all the rights of its league, including broadcasting and media rights.

Five teams representing five cities will participate in Lanka’s Premier League, but with the Pakistan Cricket Board also announcing that it will hold the remaining four PSL matches between November 14 and 17, many Pakistani players may not be able to attend the opening session of the event.

The Sri Lankan board firmly expects the Premier League to resume full-time domestic cricket activities following the cancellation of five international commitments due to the COVID 19 pandemic.

Since March, Sri Lanka has had only 3,000 cases of the virus, with around 24 deaths, a small number compared to cases in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Omar said the purpose of buying shares in the team in Galle was to promote the league in Lanka and also because of the old friendly relations between Pakistan and Sri Lankan cricket.

The tournament will be played at three international venues – Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *